BOOK REVIEW: THE MOUNTAIN BY ELVI RHODES.

Author: Elvi Rhodes

Title: The Mountain

Genre: General Fiction (Adult)/ Historical Fiction

Publication date: 22 March, 2011

Publisher: Random House UK, Transworld Publishers

Purchase link: Amazon

Book Blurb

Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin, Dilly Court and Catherine Cookson, a moving saga of courage, hardship and triumph set in Yorkshire by multi-million copy seller Elvi Rhodes. 

Passions ignite amidst the harsh and rugged hills of Yorkshire…

When Jake Tempest hears of jobs going building the new railways lines, he is drawn to Whernside in the Yorkshire countryside, and the mountain through which a tunnel is being carved.

Beth Seymour is the one thing that lightens his harsh new life – but she has a husband and is trapped in an increasingly loveless marriage.

As the construction of the railway progresses in the shadow of the mountain, complex passions play out…

My Review

The Mountain by Elvi Rhodes is an interesting book. I have read other books by her but this one surpasses all. I enjoyed it from page one.

So many characters but Jake and Beth are my favourites. Mrs Drake, Sally Roland and Patrick although secondary characters were part of my favourites characters. Let’s not forget about grumpy ill tempered Will. Ugh!


I love how Beth enjoys reading and has a passion for teaching children. I am a teacher and I was impressed by her enthusiasm and eagerness towards knowledge.


This book is fit for a movie! It deserves 5 stars from me.

I enjoyed this book so much. I read it within two days.

Whenever I read a book, I try to find the story behind the book title and I got a perfect plot behind the name “The Mountain“.

I received a complimentary copy of this book through NetGalley. Opinions expressed in this review are mine.

About the Author

Elvi Rhodes was born and educated in Yorkshire, and now lives on the Sussex coast. She is the author of many bestselling novels including Opal, Doctor Rose, Ruth Appleby, The Golden Girls, Madeleine, The House of Bonneau, Cara’s Land, The Rainbow Through the Rain, The Bright One, Portrait of Chloe, Spring Music, Midsummer Meeting, The Birthday Party, Mulberry Lane, A Blessing In Disguise and The Apple Tree. A collection of stories, Summer Promise and Other Stories, is also published by Corgi Books.

Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s